Cardinal Sins

Now that we’ve made it through all the year-end holidays, I thought it might be good to visit something Pope Gregory 1st wrote. He’s the one that decided it would be a good idea to codify the deadly sins. Yes, the concept of “cardinal sins” or “deadly sins” was classified into Roman Catholic theology by Pope Gregory 1st in the sixth century. These cardinal sins are : 

  • Envy = the desire to have an item or experience that someone else possesses
  • Gluttony = excessive ongoing consumption of food or drink
  • Greed or Avarice = an excessive pursuit of material possessions
  • Lust = an uncontrollable passion or longing, especially for sexual desires
  • Pride = excessive view of one’s self without regard to others
  • Sloth = excessive laziness or the failure to act and utilize one’s talents
  • Wrath = uncontrollable feelings of anger and hate towards another person

Now I’m sure none of us have come even close to any one of these cardinal sins lately. But, it’s always good to revisit this list from time to time and do a quick checkup on how we’re doing as examples of Jesus in this world. As the Holy Spirit inspired Paul to write in Romans 12:1 (NIV) “Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship.”

Photo by Artem Bali on Unsplash

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: